Anatolius and Minor Writers.Introductory Notice to Anatolius and Minor Writers.

Instead of reprinting a disjointed mass of “Fragments,” I have thought it desirable to present them in a group, illustrative of the Alexandrian school. I give to Anatolius the deserved place of prominence, marking him as the meet successor of Africanus in ability if not in the nature of his pursuits. His writings and the testimony of Eusebius prove him to have been a star of no inferior magnitude, even in the brilliant constellation of faith and genius of which he is part.

These minor writers I have arranged, not with exclusive reference to minute chronology, but with some respect to their material, as follows: — 



I. Anatolius A.D. 270   

II. Alexander of Cappadocia A.D. 250   

III. Theognostus A.D. 265   

IV. Pierius A.D. 300   

V. Theonas A.D. 300   

VI. Phileas A.D. 307   

VII. Pamphilus A.D. 309